"From what was once a building comprising mainly of books, is now a community hub where people learn, grow, do, experience, produce, and find interesting things." 
Jessica Madureira, 2016 Kay Poustie Scholarship winner

Traditionally the Kay Poustie Scholarship has enabled a library professional in Western Australia to undertake study locally or internationally to explore library services and best practice that can be applied to public libraries in WA.

However, the ongoing national and international COVID situation with  uncertainty around borders and in person conferences means that the 2022 Scholarship will be offered as a research project to the value of $5000.

Travel to support the research may be funded by the Scholarship, provided it identifies as part of the research proposal

Priority research topics for 2022 are:

The 4 pillars of the Draft Public Library Strategy:

  • Digital inclusion
  • Libraries supporting communities
  • Library led learning and
  • Demonstrating the value of public libraries

As well as:

  • Public Libraries and seniors
  • Public Libraries and the Sustainable Development Goals

The scholarship is a partnership between the State Library of Western Australia and Public Libraries WA Inc (PLWA). ALIAWest and numerous personal donors are also supporters of the scholarship.

The call for entries will be made at the end of January 2022, so get your thinking caps on in preparation. The opening of entries will be publicised through the usual channels including the SLWA Facebook page and Website. Information will also be be distributed through the PLWA network.

The 2020 and 2021 Scholarships

The Kay Poustie Scholarship for 2020 and 2021 were not  awarded due to the COVID-19 restrictions on travel.

To Donate to the Kay Poustie Scholarship

2021 The Kay Poustie Scholarship for 2020 was not awarded due to the COVID-19 restrictions on travel.
2020 The Kay Poustie Scholarship for 2020 was not awarded due to the COVID-19 restrictions on travel.
2019 No award was presented
2018 Shane Dowling 2018 (PDF 746KB)
Chantay Mallett 2018 (PDF 2.4MB)
Teena Miller 2018 (PDF 615KB)                                                            
2017 No award was presented

Jessica Madureira 2016 (PDF 9.8MB)


Megan Sullivan 2015 (PDF 1.8MB)


Jane Jones 2014 (PDF 2.3MB)


Ruth Campbell-Hicks 2013 (PDF 2.3MB)


Kirstie Nicholson 2012 (PDF 766KB)


Last updated on 29 November 2021