Categories, Prizes and Guidelines

We are excited to announce a new category - The Premier's Prize for Book of the Year Award, sponsored by Writing WA. The new category celebrates books published or self-published in the calendar year of 2022. Open to Western Australian resident writers of any style or genre, including fiction, non-fiction, poetry, history or young adult. The new category broadens the scope of the Awards allowing more Western Australian writers to be honoured and celebrated. Writing WA, the peak body for writers in Western Australia, will initially fund the new award for the next three years, with the State Library of Western Australia (SLWA) covering judging and other administrative costs.

The 2023 Western Australian Premier's Book Awards are now titled after the year the awards are presented instead of the year the books were published. The Writing for Children Award receives a minor facelift, in name only, altered to Children's Book of the Year to align with the new category and reflect the inclusion of illustrators.  The Daisy Utemorrah Award is administered and funded by Broome-based Indigenous publisher Magabala Books with support from the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries. 

The Premier’s Prize for an Emerging Writer ($15,000)

For the first published work of prose, poetry or narrative nonfiction, in any genre, by an author or authors residing in Western Australia.

The Premier’s Prize for Children's Book of the Year ($15,000)

For a work of prose, poetry or narrative nonfiction written for children (0 to 12 years of age), in any genre, by an author or authors residing in Western Australia.

The Premier’s Prize for Book of the Year, sponsored by Writing WA ($15,000)

Awarded to an outstanding fiction or narrative nonfiction book by an author residing in Western Australia. This category is open to prose, poetry, fiction or narrative nonfiction in any style or genre.

The Western Australian Writer’s Fellowship ($60,000)

The Fellowship is designed to assist a Western Australian writer, of any style or ​genre, to develop their writing practice and give them the time to create new work in a one year time period.

The Daisy Utemorrah Award for Unpublished Indigenous Junior and YA Fiction ($15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books)

For a new unpublished manuscript for a work of junior and young adult fiction, including graphic novels, by an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander writer – Australia wide. Supported by the State Government of Western Australia and the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, the winner will receive a cash prize of $15,000 and their manuscript will be published by Magabala Books, under the guidance of an Indigenous editor.

2023 Guidelines, Terms and Conditions

CMD690 Premiers Book Awards 2021 open for entries
Entries are now closed for the Premier's Prizes and Fellowship. Entries closed at 5pm (WST) on 19 January 2023.
Western Australian Premiers Book Awards 2023
The awards support, develop and recognise excellence in Western Australian writing. The 2024 Awards will open in late December 2023 or early January 2024.
This page last updated on