WA Premier's Book Awards

The 2024 Western Australian Premier's Book Awards are now closed for entries. 

Western Australian Premier's Book Awards are for books published or self-published in 2023. The awards support, develop and recognise excellence in Western Australian writing. The State Library of Western Australia manages the Premier's Book Awards on behalf of the Government of Western Australia. Entries closed on 26 February 2024. Winners will be announced at the State Library in June 2024. 

The Daisy Utemorrah Award for Unpublished Indigenous Junior and YA Fiction is administered and presented by Magabala Books  and closed on 25 March 2024. Consult their website for details on how to enter. 

Receive the latest information by subscribing to the WA Premier's Book Awards eNewsletter. We only post a few times a year. Sign up at the bottom of this page.

The logo is based on an original illustration, "Constellation" by © Moira Court, from the enchanting children's book My Superhero written by Chris Owen (Fremantle Press), shortlisted in 2023 and 2014 for Best Children's Book. Original illustrations from the book can be viewed on the Catalogue (PWC/218).

WA History bookshelves Level 3 State Library
The State Library is conducting a review of the Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards. The survey is open to anyone with an interest in the WA writing industry.
Children watching Queens Coronation fireworks display 1953
See 2024 categories, prizes and the Guidelines, Terms and Conditions.
Children engrossed in a film show 1968
Got questions? We have answers. Frequently asked questions about the 2024 WA Premier's Book Awards. 

Subscribe to the WA Premier's Book Awards eNewsletter

Winners and Shortlists from previous years of the Western Australian Premier's Book Awards.
This page last updated on