Library Board Awards 2023

  • Library Board Awards celebrates excellence in WA public libraries.
  • Awards highlight the ways libraries innovate and engage with their communities. 
  • Margaret Allen PSM named a Fellow of the Library Board. 
  • ALIAWest presents service pins and FA Sharr Awards.

On the 20 July 2023, the State Library of Western Australia celebrated libraries and their staff at the annual Library Board Awards. Pictures of winners below and more social pictures available on Facebook.

The City of Karratha and the Shire of Boyup Brook libraries were recognised for providing outstanding services to their communities. The local governments received a Library Board of Western Australia Award for Innovation and Collaboration in the categories of Metropolitan or Large Regional Communities and Small Regional Communities, respectively. 

The City of Karratha was honoured for its Memory Preservation Station project, which provides an opportunity for the community to convert old media sources digitally, preserving memories and WA history for generations to come. Curtin University Library received a commendation for Engaging with Indigenous Perspectives through the library’s collections and services.

In the Small Regional Communities category, the Shire of Boyup Brook was acknowledged for its Public Library Re-imagined initiative. This project saw the local library relocated with the Community Resource Centre, providing a catalyst for the introduction of new and improved services which have been praised for engaging community members of all ages. 

Chair of the Library Board of Western Australia, the Hon John Day, said that the Innovation and Collaboration Award provided much needed recognition to libraries which were often the unsung heroes of local communities

Four outstanding library projects were nominated in each category:

Metropolitan or Large Regional Communities category

  • City of Albany, Albany Public Library. For the establishment of the Albany Leisure and Aquatic Centre micro-library in response to feedback from library users regarding making library services more widely available.   
  • City of Busselton Library Services. For Storytime Way, a free, interactive outdoor Storytime trail for families with a magical mix of literacy and literacy-based activities.
  • City of Karratha Libraries won for Memory Preservation Station, providing an opportunity for the community to convert old media sources to digital outputs, in turn preserving precious memories and providing access to items that might otherwise be lost.
  • Curtin University Library. Received a Commendation for its Engaging with Indigenous Perspectives Through the Library’s Collections and Services project. This project focuses on Indigenising and decolonising approaches and ways of thinking to ensure better staff and student engagement, contributing to Curtin’s Reconciliation efforts.

Small Regional Communities category

  • Shire of Nannup Public Library. For its Revamp of Nannup Public Library programs that has resulted in a 150% increase in use.
  • Shire of Boyup Brook Community Resource Centre won for Public Library Re-imagined, where locating the library with the local CRC has been the catalyst for the introduction of multiple new and improved services that have engaged the community across all ages.
  • Shire of Beverley Community Resource Centre. For improving engagement with children and families with a new library space and facilities to support early childhood literacy.
  • Shire of Narrogin’s R.W. (Bob) Farr Memorial Library’s Forget Me Not Café providing social support and connection for people experiencing dementia.

Also honoured on the night was former State Librarian and Chief Executive Officer of the State Library of Western Australia Margaret Allen PSM FALIA. She was made a Fellow of the Library Board for a long and distinguished career which has seen her make an invaluable contribution to the library profession locally, nationally and internationally.

ALIAWest Committee Member and former winner Emily Paull presented the F.A. Sharr Award to Melissa Pettit. The award is given to a Western Australian librarian or library technician within the first three years following graduation who exhibits the most potential to contribute significantly to the library profession.

The night ended with Dr Nicole Johnstone, Member of the ALIA Board of Directors and Associate University Librarian (ECU) handing out pins to ALIA members with long and outstanding careers working in libraries. Mark Bickerton, Viv Barton, Frances Hammond and Jean Coleman received pins for 40 years of service. Sally Eaton and Kaylene Manderson received 30 years pins. Patricia Morton-Smith and Alison Burden joined the 25 years. Proving that working in libraries is a lifelong passion. 

This page last updated on