Opening Hours

Normal Opening Hours

The State Library is open on:

Monday–Thursday 9:00am–8:00pm
Friday 9:00am–5:30pm
Saturday-Sunday 10:00am–5:30pm (some services are not available for the full opening hours).

The Library is closed on Public Holidays (see below for detailed closures and holiday hours).

Retrievals

Collection retrieval services are available:

Monday–Thursday 9:30am–7:30pm
Friday 9:30am–5:00pm
Saturday–Sunday 10:30am–5:00pm

Justice of the Peace

Ground floor Tuesday and Wednesday 10:00am–2:00pm (no bookings required)

Western Australian Genealogical Society 

The Western Australian Genealogical Society Inc (WAGS) are in attendance in the Genealogy Centre on the 3rd floor on:

Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 9:30am–1:00pm

2020 Public holiday closures and holiday hours

New Year’s Day Wednesday 1 January CLOSED

Australia Day Monday 27 January CLOSED

Labour Day Monday 2 March CLOSED

Thursday 9 April 9:00am–5:30pm
Good Friday Friday 10 April CLOSED
Easter Saturday Saturday 11 April CLOSED
Easter Sunday Sunday 12 April CLOSED
Easter Monday Monday 13 April CLOSED

Anzac Day Monday 27 April CLOSED

Western Australia Day Monday 1 June CLOSED

Queen’s Birthday Monday 28 September CLOSED

Christmas Eve Thursday 24 December 9:00am–5:30pm​
Christmas Day Friday 25 December CLOSED
Boxing Day Saturday 26 December CLOSED
Sunday 27 December CLOSED
Monday 28 December CLOSED
Tuesday 29 December 9:00am–5:30pm
Wednesday 30 December 9:00am–5:30pm
Thursday 31 December 9:00am–5:30pm
New Year’s Day 2021 Friday 1 January CLOSED

Last updated on: 21 January 2020