Applications are now closed.

Are you an avid book reader? Enjoy literature in all its forms? The Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards is looking for judges.

The State Library is seeking expressions of interest from dedicated writers, poets, academics, publishers, researchers, and teachers to join a panel for the 2021 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards. We invite people from a wide range of literary perspectives to submit an EOI for the positions. Ideally you will enjoy reading Australian literature, and will have the time, relevant experience and fair-mindedness to critically examine a large number of books in a short timeframe.

Judges receive a small honorarium and should be available for judging from late January to early June 2022. Each judge will be assigned a primary and secondary category. The Chairperson will appoint the categories. EOI’s should include a brief statement of your interest in the judging process, describing your expertise, knowledge, or passion in any of the fields that the Awards cover. Please include a brief CV. The EOI and CV should not exceed more than one A4 page each as an attachment via email (no within the body of the email).

Judging categories

  • The Western Australian Writer’s Fellowship
  • The Premier’s Prize for Writing for Children
  • The Premier’s Prize for an Emerging Writer


  • Living in Western Australia and able to attend the final judging panel, of their own accord, in Perth, WA.
  • Not entering any category in the 2021 Western Australian Premiers Book Awards.
  • No major conflicts of interest with books possibly entering.
  • Not currently working for or affiliated with a publishing company for the past two years.
  • Permanent full-time employees and Board Members of the State Library of Western Australia and permanent full-time employees of the State Records Office (SRO) are not eligible to apply.

The Library has decided to implement a new system whereby judges can be retained for a maximum of three years before changes are made.

To ensure that the Chair of the panel has experience in the process, that person will be permitted to remain on the panel for more than three years. The Chair of the panel will only be permitted to retain the role of Chair for two years.

Email your EOI to by 5pm (WST) Monday 10 January 2022.

This page last updated on 11 January 2022