Winner of the Battye Memorial Fellowship announced

Monday 16 April 2018

The State Library of Western Australia is pleased to announce that Dr Ethan Blue has been awarded the James Sykes Battye Memorial Fellowship for 2018.

The JS Battye Memorial Fellowship, valued at $10,000, is awarded to Dr Ethan Blue for his project The Deaths in Custody Watch Committee of Western Australia: A Living History. Dr Blue’s research will examine the Deaths in Custody Watch Committee of Western Australia’s history and contribution to community wellbeing in Western Australia. Despite the Committee’s ongoing importance — and the persistence of Aboriginal deaths in custody, particularly in Western Australia — the Committee’s story has never been told. This social history of the Watch Committee will serve as a basis for community education a foundation for further scholarly research.

Dr Blue has previously donated a significant archival collection of materials related to the Deaths in Custody Watch Committee of Western Australia (71 boxes of material) to the State Library of Western Australia. He will use this collection to research and tell the story of the Deaths in Custody Watch Committee.

The Battye Memorial Fellowship provides a supportive environment enabling the researchers to delve into the rich range of material within the heritage collections with support from specialist staff, and space to work within the JS Battye Library of West Australian History.

James Sykes Battye was the State’s Chief Librarian from 1894-1954. The Battye Memorial Fellowship highlights the State Library as the premier centre for research materials on all aspects of Western Australia. The research carried out through the Fellowship demonstrates the significance of the collections held here, which can be accessed and used to interpret our culture and society, both now and in the future.

The JS Battye Memorial Fellowship was established through the Leah Jane Cohen Library Bequest to enhance understanding of Western Australia through research based on the State Library’s heritage collections.

For more information on previous winners see:

Last updated on: 27 July 2018