Support Professional Development

Kay Poustie Scholarship

The State Library of Western Australia and Public Libraries WA award an annual scholarship to Western Australian public library professionals to explore ideas and initiatives from across Australia or around the world that could be applied to the public library network in Western Australia.

The Scholarship is named in honour of Kay Poustie OAM, former Chairman and Member of the Library Board of WA (1990-2009). Kay understood the importance of Western Australian libraries maintaining an international perspective in the fields of best practice, program delivery and professional development.

Donations to continue and extend the reach of the Kay Poustie Scholarship can be made securely online or print and mail the Donation Form (PDF 280KB) to the State Library.

"From what was once a building comprising mainly of books, is now a community hub where people learn, grow, do, experience, produce, and find interesting things."

Jessica Madureira, 2016 Kay Poustie Scholarship winner

Past scholarship recipients and their scholarship outcomes:

Kirstie Nicholson 2012 (PDF 766KB)
Ruth Campbell-Hicks 2013 (PDF 2.3MB)
Jane Jones 2014 (PDF 2.3MB)
Megan Sullivan 2015 (PDF 1.8MB)
Jessica Madureira 2016 (PDF 9.8MB)
There was no award in 2017
Caris Chamberlain 2018 Bursary (PDF 2.3MB)
Chantay Mallett 2018 Bursary (PDF 2.4MB)
Shane Dowling 2018 Bursary (PDF 746KB)
Teena Miller 2018 Bursary (PDF 615KB)

Last updated on: 9 April 2019