Most of your questions will be answered in the Guidelines, Terms and Conditions found in the How to Enter page.

This award is presented and administered by Magabala Books. Please see their website for all entry details and inquiries.

This award is administered by Magabala Books who focus on indigenous writers and stories. The government and the Library is pleased to support this award aimed at emerging Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers for junior or young adult fiction.

First read the Guidelines, Terms and Conditions found in the How to Enter page.  Most of your questions are answered in the document.

Fill out an online entry form and post in five (5) copies of your work. 

Please note there are three different online entry forms. One for each category.

The Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards are free to enter, however the cost of sending books to the State Library must be covered by the applicant.

You must complete an online entry form by 5pm (WST) on 17 February 2019. Please note there may be a last minute run of entrants and we highly recommend entering early. No late submissions will be accepted.

Five (5) copies of your work and printed confirmation letter must be received by the State Library no later than 5pm (WST) 24 February 2020.

Works may be submitted by authors, illustrators, publishers or literary agents. Publishers or literary agents must have the permission of the all author/s and illustrator/s.

The applicant must be substantively a Western Australian resident for a minimum of 12 months prior to the closing date of nominations in order to enter. Proof of residency may be required. However, The Daisy Utemorrah Award for Unpublished Indigenous Junior and YA Fiction is open Australia wide.

It has been brought to our attention that a change we made to the eligibility criteria for the Premier’s Award for Children and the Premier’s Award for Emerging Writers has not been communicated well to the writing community.  The change in question was to require both the writer and the illustrator of a book reside in Western Australia.  The philosophy behind that change was we wanted to support Western Australian creatives and that included supporting Western Australian Illustrators in the same way we support Western Australian writers.

However, acknowledging this has resulted in unintended consequences for 2019 without specific advice to the sector regarding the change, we will revert to the same eligibility as for 2018. This mean in the case of a children’s picture book one of the *authors or co-authors need to be Western Australian.

 Whilst we will explore this matter further in the coming months (once the judging process has commenced for 2019), be believe that unless the intention of the Awards scheme changes after 2019, non-Western Australian creators would revert back to being ineligible for the 2020 Awards.

Note that joint authors must have the permission of the other author/s to enter the work.

Anthologies of poetry or short stories by more than three different authors and compiled by an editor are not eligible.

*Author is defined as co-author, editor, illustrator or translator.


Works may be submitted in multiple categories, but an author can only win one category per awards cycle. If entering multiple categories, a separate entry form must be filled out for each category and five (5) books provided per category must be sent e.g. two categories would need two (2) online entries and ten (10) books.

No. You can enter multiple categories but cannot win multiple categories.

Yes, self-published books are eligible this year provided they have an ISBN number are printed in book form. 

The Award is for a first published book, in any genre, written by an author/s who has not previously published or self-published a book-length work of prose, poetry and narrative non-fiction in book form. In the case of joint authorship both authors must meet these criteria.

Only books published between the 1 January 2019 and 31 December 2019 are eligible for the Premier’s Prize.

No, you must complete an online entry form. If you do not have access to a computer or internet, your local Library membership will allow free computer access.

Once you have completed an online entry form a confirmation email will be sent to you with a mailing address label.

Postage is preferred but you can hand deliver to the Welcome Desk on the ground floor at State Library of Western Australia during Library opening hours. Please bring all copies of your books and a printed version of the packing receipt emailed to you once the entry form is complete. Incomplete drop off may make your entry ineligible.

Yes. All five copies are needed for the judging process and State Library records.

Shortlisted applicants will be notified via email. Unsuccessful entries may not be advised personally of the results. The shortlist will be announced on the State Library website and social media @statelibrarywa.

The winners will be announced during the Disrupted Festival of Ideas in July 2020 at the State Library.

Books and other entered material will not be returned. All published works will become the property of the State Library of Western Australia.

The five (5) books are distributed as follows: four (4) copies to the category Judges assessing the nomination, one (1) copy remains with the State Library as a record. The State Library reserves the right to add these works to the State Library’s collections or donate them to charity.

Information and enquiries:

Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards
State Library of Western Australia
Perth Cultural Centre
25 Francis Street

Contact: Karen Farmer
Email: premiersbookawards@slwa.wa.gov.au
Telephone: (08) 9427 3173

Last updated on: 23 January 2020