Fiction (Joint Winners)

The Country Without Music by Nicholas Hasluck​

Published by Penguin Books

Cloud Street by Tim Winton

Published by McPhee Gribble


Ask Me by Fay Zwicky​​​

Published by University of Queensland Press

Historical & Critical Studies (Joint Winners)

Wild Card by Dorothy Hewett

Published by McPhee Gribble

Writing from the Fringe by Mudrooroo Narogin

Published by Hyland House

Children's (Joint Winners)

The Devil's Own by Deborah Lisson

Published by Walter McVitty

Locki Leonard, Human Torpedo by Tim Winton

Published by McPhee Gribble


Bran Nue Dae by Jimmy Chi, Patrick B. Amat, Garry Gower, Michael Manolis, and Stephen Pigram​

Published by Currency Press and Magabala Books

Last updated on: 16 January 2020