State Library Fellowships


James Sykes Battye Memorial Fellowship

The Fellowship honours the legacy of librarian and historian James Sykes Battye, Chief Librarian of the State Library of Western Australia from 1894-1954.  Established through the Leah Jane Cohen Bequest, the Fellowship aims to enhance understanding of Western Australia through research based on the State Library’s heritage collections, particularly the Battye Library.

The Fellowship was established in 2006 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the J S Battye Library of Western Australian History.

Dr Anne Scrimgeour is the recipient of the 2016 JS Battye Memorial Fellowship for her project Striking for Rights, Writing the Strike: the Pilbara Aboriginal and Cooperative Movement 1945-1960.

Nicola Kaye and Stephen Terry have been awarded the 2016 inaugural JS Battye Creative Fellowship for the project Riots, Picnics and Parades.

James Sykes Battye Creative Fellowship

New for 2016, the State Library is proud to offer its first Creative Fellowship to support creative engagement with the State Library’s heritage collections.

The aim of the Creative Fellowship is to enhance engagement with the Library’s heritage collections and provide new experiences for the public through creative works. It is anticipated that the Creative Fellowship will inspire, delight and also inform the public about aspects of Western Australian history.

The inaugural 2016 Creative Fellowship is now closed.

Share this page   share on Facebook share on Twitter share on stumbleupon

Page last updated: Monday 4 July 2016

printer friendly